In Ginza the question was where to look. In Shinjuku it was whether the shop’s own pages agreed with each other. In Shibuya it was who had written the page. In Roppongi it was when. In Nihonbashi it was whether the shop and the building both had a page, and whether the two of them matched. In Asakusa it was what language the answer came in, and what shape it took. In Ueno it was what the name on the page actually pointed to. Between Ebisu and Nakameguro it was where a reservation landed. In Akasaka it was what the printed price included. Osaka’s own first chapter, in Shinsaibashi, asked who was publishing the page calling itself official — the shop itself, on its own domain, or a reservation platform’s template standing in for one. Here in Tennoji and Abeno, the question is smaller than any of those, and it is the one a diner actually asks out loud: which day is this place closed.
Tennoji and Abeno hold more sushi counters than the five below. What follows is a selection, chosen so that the different shapes an answer to that one question can take are visible at once side by side — not a claim that no two sushi counters anywhere in the district ever answer it alike. Among these five, no two shapes repeat. Two state a weekday in their own words, plainly, with no page to contradict them. One shop’s own page has no closed-day field at all, though every other line of it is detailed down to the last order time. One shop’s own page points to somebody else’s holiday calendar, and does so the same way on both of the pages that carry its name. And one shop has two web pages of its own, each signed in its footer with the identical shop name, that disagree not only on which day it is closed but on the telephone number and the seat count as well. That is a different kind of disagreement from a shop and its landlord keeping two records that drift apart, which is a story this series has already told one street over. Here, every page that speaks for a shop speaks as that shop, and still they do not agree with each other.
Sushi Wataru — a weekday, on the only page there is
One minute on foot from the Matsuzaki exit of Osaka Abenobashi Station, on the Kintetsu Minami Osaka Line, and outside any of the department-store dining floors that the rest of this piece keeps returning to: the address is 2-3-5 Matsuzakicho, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0053. The shop’s own page sits on wataru.gorp.jp, a subdomain of GORP, the restaurant-site builder run by Gurunavi, rather than on a domain of its own — the same kind of address this series has already found standing in for a shop’s own site elsewhere. Booking runs through the telephone, on 050-5487-1626, an IP-phone number, or through Gnavi’s own online reservation system, linked directly from the page.
Thirty seats in total, the page says, with a banquet maximum of fourteen seated, two horigotatsu — sunken-floor — private rooms among them, one seating ten and the other six. Dinner runs 18:00 to 23:00, last order 22:30; no lunch service is published. A course runs ¥4,950 to ¥7,700 a person, and individual pieces, ordered on their own, run ¥550 to ¥770.
And the closed day is written in one line, in the shop’s own words: Sunday. There is no second page carrying the shop’s name to check it against — no building directory, no group site, nothing — so there is no way for that single sentence to be contradicted. It simply stands.
- Where. 2-3-5 Matsuzakicho, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0053. One minute on foot from the Matsuzaki exit of Osaka Abenobashi Station, Kintetsu Minami Osaka Line.
- Booking. Telephone, 050-5487-1626, or Gnavi’s own online reservation system, linked from the shop’s page.
- Hours. Dinner 18:00–23:00, last order 22:30. No lunch service is published.
- Closed. Sunday.
- Price. Course ¥4,950–¥7,700 a person. Individual pieces ¥550–¥770. Tax treatment is not stated.
- Seats. 30 in total, with a banquet maximum of 14 seated. Two horigotatsu private rooms, seating 10 and 6.
Sushi Suzuwaka — a weekday, with the exception written in
Eight minutes on foot from JR Tennoji Station, six from Abeno Station on the Tanimachi Line, inside the Nishikan building of Abeno Marche: unit 120, 2-1-1 Asahicho, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0051. The shop’s page sits on its own domain, suzuwaka.com, and no separate page from Abeno Marche’s own operator turned up anywhere in this search — whatever the mall itself might say about its tenant, it was not published where we could read it.
Eight seats, the page says, with no breakdown of counter against anything else. Dinner runs 17:00 to 23:00, last order 22:00; there is no lunch. Pricing is item by item rather than by course: ¥198 to ¥1,738, tax included, with tuna at ¥275, sea urchin at ¥660, conger eel and seared kinmedai at ¥418, and a thick roll — not a single piece, but a whole roll — at ¥1,296.
The closed day is written out with its own exception: Monday, and if Monday falls on a public holiday, Tuesday instead. Booking runs by telephone, on 06-6585-9337, or through hitosara.com; cancellation is free up to the day before the booking and can run to the full course price on the day itself, both terms stated on the same page. The shop also states that it is registered for Japan’s invoice system, though it does not print the registration number.
- Where. Abeno Marche Nishikan #120, 2-1-1 Asahicho, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0051. Eight minutes on foot from JR Tennoji Station, six from Abeno Station on the Osaka Metro Tanimachi Line.
- Booking. Telephone, 06-6585-9337, or hitosara.com. Cancellation is free until the day before; up to 100 per cent of the course price can apply on the day.
- Hours. Dinner 17:00–23:00, last order 22:00. No lunch service is published.
- Closed. Monday, moving to Tuesday when Monday is a public holiday.
- Price. Item by item, ¥198–¥1,738, tax included.
- Seats. 8. No breakdown published.
Sushi Kokei — a page with everything on it except the one line
Fourteenth floor of Abeno Harukas Dining, directly connected to the Abeno Harukas Kintetsu Main Store, at 1-1-43 Abenosuji, Abeno-ku, Osaka; no walking time is published, because none is needed. The only page we could find carrying this shop’s details is not on a domain of its own — it is a restaurant-directory entry on the Kintetsu Main Store’s own site, abenoharukas.d-kintetsu.co.jp, at an address we reached only by guessing a numbered URL after the store’s own top-level directory page redirected back to its listing rather than to any individual shop.
Third-party search results describe this shop as part of a larger sushi restaurant group, but that group’s own website returned a certificate error — the certificate named a different host than the one we asked for — when we tried to read it. What follows is drawn from the store’s own restaurant page alone.
Twelve counter seats and thirty-two at tables, the page says, with a private room for up to eight and a semi-private option besides. Weekdays run 11:00 to 15:00, last order 14:30, then 17:00 to 22:00, last order 21:00; weekends and public holidays run straight through, 11:00 to 22:00, last order 21:00, with a note that last entry is 20:45. Lunch starts from ¥1,980, dinner from ¥2,420. Booking runs by telephone, 06-6625-2375, or through Hitosara’s online system.
- Where. Abeno Harukas Dining 14F, Kintetsu Main Store, 1-1-43 Abenosuji, Abeno-ku, Osaka. Directly connected to the station buildings; no walking time is published.
- Booking. Telephone, 06-6625-2375, or Hitosara’s online booking system.
- Hours. Weekdays 11:00–15:00 (last order 14:30) and 17:00–22:00 (last order 21:00). Weekends and public holidays 11:00–22:00 (last order 21:00). Last entry is noted as 20:45.
- Closed. Not published. No closing-day field appears anywhere on the page.
- Price. Lunch from ¥1,980, dinner from ¥2,420. Tax treatment is not stated.
- Seats. Counter 12, tables 32, a private room for up to 8, and a semi-private option.
Kaitenzushi Jin — two pages, one name, two answers
Thirteenth floor of the Abeno Harukas Kintetsu Main Store’s tower building, at 1-1-43 Abenosuji, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0052 — on this much, two independent web pages agree exactly. Both carry their own domain. Both close their footer with the identical line, character for character: 回转寓し仁 あべのハルカスダイニング店, this shop’s own name, with no platform and no third party named alongside it. Call them Site A, at k258809.gorp.jp, and Site B, at nakanoya-harukas.com. From the address down, almost nothing else on them matches.
Site A gives a telephone number of 050-5492-1231 and states a one-minute walk from Tennoji Station on the Osaka Metro Midosuji Line; Site B gives 06-6627-9505 and states no walking time at all. Site A counts a total of 120 seats, with a banquet maximum of 40 seated and eight private rooms in three sizes — four for two to six, two for seven to twelve, two for thirteen to twenty. Site B counts 124 seats, a banquet maximum of 50, and private rooms available with no breakdown of how many or how large. Both describe the same hours, 11:00 to 22:00, run straight through without a lunch-and-dinner split; only Site A states a last order, 21:30.
On the closed day, the two pages give two different answers outright. Site A states, in its own words, that there is no fixed closing day. Site B states that the shop follows the closing days of the Kintetsu Main Store at Abeno Harukas. Site A also prints prices — an all-you-can-drink course from ¥4,300, and a two-hour course at ¥4,800 to ¥8,000 — where Site B prints none at all. Site A lists PayPay among its accepted payments; Site B does not, listing cash and major cards instead, and adds a note that the shop is registered for the invoice system, without printing the number. Site B also carries a label reading translate, which points to a machine-translation tool rather than to any English the shop wrote itself. We checked as far as we could into a third possible source — the Abeno Harukas Kintetsu Main Store’s own restaurant directory, which we had already used to find Sushi Kokei three sections above — and within the first nine of its roughly sixty-five listed restaurants, no link to this shop appeared.
- Where. Kintetsu Main Store Tower Bldg. 13F, 1-1-43 Abenosuji, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0052 — agreed on both pages. Site A adds a one-minute walk from Tennoji Station, Osaka Metro Midosuji Line; Site B gives no walking time.
- Booking. Site A: telephone 050-5492-1231, or the shop’s own online reservation system with availability shown. Site B: telephone 06-6627-9505, or booking through Gurunavi.
- Hours. 11:00–22:00 on both pages, run straight through. Site A states a last order of 21:30; Site B states none.
- Closed. Site A: no fixed closing day. Site B: follows the closing days of the Kintetsu Main Store at Abeno Harukas.
- Price. Site A: all-you-can-drink course from ¥4,300; a two-hour course ¥4,800–¥8,000. Site B: no prices published.
- Seats. Site A: 120 total, banquet maximum 40, eight private rooms in three sizes. Site B: 124 total, banquet maximum 50, private rooms available with no breakdown.
One page carries this shop’s own name in its footer and states that there is no fixed closing day. Another page carries the identical name in its footer and states that the shop follows the closing days of the building it sits inside. Neither page claims to be anything other than the shop itself.
Daiki Suisan Kaiten Sushi, Abeno Q’s Mall — two pages, one answer, still no day
Fourth floor of Abeno Q’s Mall, and here for the first time in this piece a shop has two of its own kinds of page that actually agree on almost everything. The shop’s own site, run by the operating company named in its footer as Machi no Minato Co., Ltd., gives the full address: 1-6-1 Abenosuji, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0052, Abeno Q’s Mall 4F. Q’s Mall’s own building site carries a separate detail page for the same shop, and states only the floor, with no chome or banchi number attached — the one point on which the two disagree. Neither page names a nearest station or a walking time; the shop’s own site says only that it sits close to Abeno Harukas and Tennoji Zoo.
The telephone number, 06-6644-1500, matches on both. So do the hours: 11:00 to 23:00, last order 22:30, run straight through with no lunch-and-dinner split stated on either page. Neither page publishes a seat count. Neither publishes a price, either — both describe the food only as reasonably priced, and leave it there. Booking is not by telephone at all: both pages describe an in-store numbered queue system instead.
And the closed day is where the agreement is most complete, and least useful. Both pages use the identical phrase: the shop follows the closing days of Abeno Q’s Mall. Neither one goes on to say what day that actually is. A reader who wants the answer has to leave both pages and open the mall’s own separate holiday calendar — which is not a discrepancy, exactly, since the two pages that carry this shop’s name say the same thing. It is simply an answer that both of them, together, decline to finish.
- Where. Abeno Q’s Mall 4F, 1-6-1 Abenosuji, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0052, on the shop’s own site; the mall’s own listing states only the floor. Neither page names a nearest station or a walking time.
- Booking. No telephone reservation. Both pages describe an in-store numbered queue system.
- Hours. 11:00–23:00, last order 22:30, run straight through. No lunch-and-dinner split is stated.
- Closed. Both pages state that the shop follows the closing days of Abeno Q’s Mall. Neither states which weekday that is.
- Price. Not published on either page. Both describe the food only as reasonably priced.
- Seats. Not published on either page.
What the five have in common
None of the five looks careless in any way this piece can actually see. Two shops, each with a single page to check, simply wrote the day down themselves. One shop’s page is thorough about everything else — hours to the minute, a last-entry time, two sets of prices — and silent only here. One shop’s two pages disagree outright: one states there is no fixed closing day, the other defers to a building’s calendar instead. And one shop’s two pages agree completely, both deferring to the same building’s calendar in the same words, while still leaving the actual weekday unpublished.
What separates them looks less like carefulness than like position. The two shops that write a weekday themselves — Sushi Wataru and Sushi Suzuwaka — are also the two with no department-store floor behind them and no second page of their own to check against. The three that either fall silent, split, or defer — Sushi Kokei, Kaitenzushi Jin and Daiki Suisan — all sit inside a commercial building whose own calendar could plausibly stand in for theirs. Being a tenant does not force a shop’s pages apart, and it does not force them silent, either; Daiki Suisan’s two pages prove a tenant can publish the same incomplete answer twice and still agree with itself. What it does appear to do, at Kaitenzushi Jin, is leave room enough for two pages carrying the same signature to fill that room in two different ways.
Checking a closed day in about a minute
- Search for the shop’s own domain first, separately from any department-store or shopping-mall directory it might also appear in. A tenant’s own site and its landlord’s listing do not always say the same thing, and this piece found one shop where they disagreed and one where they agreed word for word.
- If the shop has more than one page of its own — not a mall listing, but two pages each carrying the shop’s own name in the footer — read both, and check the phone number and seat count on each one before trusting the closing day either states.
- If the closed-day field is blank, do not assume there isn’t one. It may simply not be published on the page you found, the way it wasn’t on one shop’s otherwise detailed listing here.
- If a page says it follows a building’s holiday calendar, that sentence is not the answer — it is a pointer to where the answer is. Open the building’s own calendar before you plan a visit around it.
- Note the date you checked. Every fact in this piece was read on 8 August 2026, and any of these five pages could change what they say tomorrow without telling anyone that they have.
Five plain questions, five different answers, and not one of them required guessing — only reading past the first line of each page and comparing it with whatever else that shop, or the building around it, had published. Osaka’s own chain of questions continues from here.
If you want to book one of these
Several of the counters described above answer the telephone only in Japanese, and a few of them take bookings by no other route. AutoReserve is a Japanese reservation service with an English interface, and it states that it will place the call on a diner’s behalf where a restaurant takes reservations by telephone alone. We have not tested it against every restaurant on this page, and a listing there is not a guarantee of a seat — the doors described above are the doors either way.
Frequently asked questions
Which of these five shops states its own closing day in its own words?
Two: Sushi Wataru, which publishes Sunday, and Sushi Suzuwaka, which publishes Monday, moving to Tuesday when Monday is a public holiday. Both are independent shops with a single page of their own and no building directory or second site to check it against.
Why doesn’t Sushi Kokei’s page say when it is closed?
Its own page, a restaurant-directory listing on the Abeno Harukas Kintetsu Main Store’s site, is detailed everywhere else — hours to the minute, a noted last-entry time, prices for both lunch and dinner — but the closing-day field simply is not filled in. Nothing elsewhere on the page explains why.
What exactly disagrees between Kaitenzushi Jin’s two web pages?
The telephone number, the total seat count, the closing day and whether a price is published at all. Site A gives 050-5492-1231, 120 seats, states there is no fixed closing day, and prints prices. Site B gives 06-6627-9505, 124 seats, states that the shop follows the Kintetsu Main Store’s own closing days, and prints no prices. Both footers carry the identical shop name.
If a page says it follows a building’s holiday calendar, does that tell you the actual day?
Not by itself. Daiki Suisan’s own site and Abeno Q’s Mall’s own listing for it both say, in the same words, that the shop follows the mall’s closing days — and neither one states what day that is. The same is true of the Site B version of Kaitenzushi Jin. In both cases the actual weekday sits on a separate page this piece did not read.
Does any of this mean these shops are being run carelessly?
Not that this piece can tell. What it shows is a difference in position: the two shops with a single page of their own answered plainly, and the three shops sitting inside a commercial building either left the field blank or pointed elsewhere — one of them, at Kaitenzushi Jin, doing so twice, on two pages that do not point to the same place.


